A flexible friend ……..

I’ve seen a lot recently about flexible working for women! Those who know me will remember after a particularly rubbish experience going back to work after baby number two I found d myself out in the big bad world looking for a job with two young children. On one instance I went for a job interview which went really really well ….. you know one of them where they are basically telling you you’ve got the job but they can’t ‘tell’ you? Before we wrapped up I told the interviewer Some what tentatively I had two young children so some flexibility to working hours would be great to allow school drop offs etc as I knew their core hours were 8 till 5, to which he immediately replied ‘ ah yes we have a flexible working policy don’t you worry!’ Brilliant I thought and trotted off awaiting my call to duty!

Low and behold the call did come and I was offered the job ….. yippee and with such a forward thinking company to have a flexible working policy to help mums get into work! As we were confirming the offer details I broached the subject of hours. I’d worked out plans whereby I could reduce the hours or consolidate some hours working later some days…..ah yes I’ve spoken to Hr instead of working 8 till 5 with an hour lunch we would be able to let you do 8.30 till 5 each day with a 30 minute lunch break……….. WHAT? Errrrr that’s not very ‘flexible’ !!! So I was left with the option of putting the children into breakfast club meaning in my first hour I’d earn the grand some of around minus £9.50!! Or turn it down and continue my search!? I turned it down.

Companies love to boast about their ‘flexible’ working policies but when it comes to actually putting these things Into practice there is such a reluctance to explore ideas and working patterns that could actually work for families…… not just Mums but Dad’s being able to opt for more flexible working patterns to share the load too!! Well that’s my rant over. It’s because of tales like this I’m thrilled to be volunteering at the upcoming Pregnant than Screwed event on the 12th of May ….. see link below!

I’m pleased to say I am now working for a lovely company who do appreciate the difficulties of balancing work and family life and do actually understand what the word flexible means!! 😊

https://www.pregnantthenscrewedlive.com/

Leave a comment