Breaking the stigma

Why hygiene

I still remember the profound effect it had on me watching the scene in the Ken Loach film I, Daniel Blake. Watching the character on screen making a choice of food for her kids over period products which she goes onto steal before getting caught.

In a single parent family we certainly weren’t well off when I was growing up and I still remember the blushing when I’d hear giggles from girls as they would spot the big old fashioned towels I’d take to school because they were the cheapest, when they had the funky new always with wings in their coloured wrapper – but at least we could afford something. It is a sad fact of today that one in ten females in the UK experience period poverty. It is something we imagine to effect only third world countries but it is a real issue right on our door step.

Look amazing and smash the stigma

I knew things in our communities were getting worse for many, foodbanks were becoming more and more talked about and usage was continually growing. But until that moment it hadn’t really hit me about the added complication for those struggling or on the streets who would be experiencing their periods on top of every else. From that moment I vowed to work on getting products to those who needed them most.

A real choice for many

It is estimated that currently over 137,000 children across the UK have missed a day of school due to period poverty.

Another issue alongside period poverty is the taboo surrounding menstruation, this can be particularly harmful to girls going through puberty. According to Bodyform “In a survey of more than 1,000 girls, nearly half were embarrassed by their period, many were afraid to ask for help because of the stigma and 68% said they felt less able to pay attention in class at school or college while menstruating.”

In addition to the practicalities of wanting to get much needed products to these women and girls – this stigma around something that affects approximately half of the worlds population on a regular basis has to stop.

I remember one time when I was working in a particularly male dominated place. The ladies bathroom was through an office filled with male managers, as I walked through to go to the bathroom with my handbag in hand one of the managers piped up ‘ hey why are you taking that big bag in the toilet with you?’ And sniggered.

I don’t know why they felt the need to ask – genuine curiosity? Cheap laugh? Lack of social skills maybe? Usually I would flush with shame and fluff some nothing answer but for what ever reason this day I’d had enough and stopped in my tracks before declaring to the room ‘because I’m on my period of course’

A few shifty glances and an awkward cough from the room and I was on my way and it felt good and a little bit empowering to just say it out loud. Any awkwardness on their part was on them for being embarrassed by something so normal. I knew they all had wives, daughters, mothers etc who either have or had periods so surely they realised that?

Fast forward a couple of years and I started a new job, in a quite male dominated industry but there was a fifty fifty split of office based workers being male to female. Everyone was really lovely and I was so thrilled to be starting the job. Week one went great, then during week two I got my period. It was only at that point I realised there was no sanitary bin in the ladies toilet …. whaaaat?!? Surely I was just not spotting it. I went down to speak to some of the girls and pointed out I couldn’t find anywhere to dispose of used items and was met with ‘ yes it’s a nightmare isn’t it, I dread getting mine etc etc’ so I asked – ‘ has anyone actually mentioned this to the (male) boss?’ ‘erm no I was too embarrassed’ or ‘of course not I’m not asking about that’ were among the array of excuses I got for why these women would rather dread each month than ask a simple question. Cue me asking the boss about a bin, a slight giggle of embarrassment that it hadn’t event even crossed their mind and one week later a bin was installed!

But why the shame and embarrassment when it could be so easily resolved.

These are just two recent examples of when I have experienced the effect of stigma and shame around periods first hand. I’m sure all women could reel off so many. So as well as providing much needed items to people through donations we also want to break that stigma for periods and hygiene in general.

Part of breaking the stigma is opening up conversations but it always helps to give things a bit more of a brazen nudge and that’s just what has happened recently.

A wonderful, lovely, amazing local company called Creativily headed by Emily contacted us with the idea of amazing tees with cute designs based on sanitary items and they are real legit stunning. And as if that wasn’t fabulous enough Money from each sale will be donated to our hygiene bank for many more much needed items – and what a huge step in breaking down the taboo when we wear these tees load and proud!

To find out more about the tees and the work being done by the hygiene bank check out the links below

Seeing Emily’s genuine passion and drive was so inspirational and reminded me that there is still so much work to be done, campaigns continue to ensure these products are free to all who need them. Awareness of initiatives available to education settings who can access free products is being raised and the battle for more understanding of the effect on girls and women who cannot access these items still goes on – if you would like to find out more or would like to donate or get involved please email laura.bevan777@gmail.com

Home

https://www.facebook.com/fortunafemalesocietyffs/

https://creativily.co.uk/

Leave a comment